The song of ME

Poem in response to a prompt by Christina Ward on POM.

Sylvia Clare MSc. Psychol, mindfulness teacher
The POM

--

This life, has it shown me both sorrow and joy of the deepest, widest oceans and left me gasping for breath each time?

Have I known the earth and its glories, travelled to see this and that, and found them all already within myself, within this simple life that opens to me now with lockdown?

Have I read every poem ever written, heard every song sung, each time I stop and listen to the blackbird singing in my garden at dusk?

Have I forgotten who I am in a moment of sheer joy, in the sea, swimming, so that I am one with the water and no longer human?

Have I lost my heart to the innocent hand of a child who looks at me with mischief and love, adventure and wonderment?

Who can see what I see or feel what I feel but me, though all inhabit the same planet, live under the same stars, breath the same recycled air again and again and again?

Who am I but you, and this, and that, always becoming, never arriving, never finished, until the end and I once more become everything that ever was and ever will be.

Christina M. Ward

--

--

Sylvia Clare MSc. Psychol, mindfulness teacher
The POM

mindfulness essayist, poet, advocate for mental health and compassionate living, author of ‘No Visible Injuries’, ‘Living Well and Loving ADHD’ and many others