POETRY

The Wish-Bearers

a free verse poem for #starweek

Christina M. Ward
The POM
Published in
2 min readJul 15, 2020

--

Image by Briam Cute from Pixabay

Yes. I know.
My precious, metaphorical,
inspirational bearers-of-wishes
aren’t really stars at all.
Yes. I know.

They are meteoroids,
burst into pieces, scattering
the sky in streaks of white
so fast you might miss them

the meteors
meteors
stars

I revert

Stars. It’s MY mind.
The stars.
I don’t care what they are.

I need them.

In my mind when a star dies
it races across the sky
in one last Hallelujah.
It is light, one last flash
of searing, gigayears-old light
railing through the universe
if only to grant one wish.

The wish of a child who needs
a star to be a star.

So much else in life
is not what it seems.

--

--

Christina M. Ward
The POM
Editor for

✨WEBSITE: https://fiddleheadsnfloss.com/ ➡️ Bylines: LA Weekly | OK! Mag | Village Voice | Men's Journal | Vegamour | THS 📖Books available on Amazon