My Home, The Plantation.

Stephen Andes
The Pop Culturist
Published in
14 min readJan 28, 2020

--

Antiracism Begins with Telling the Truth about American Slavery.

The entrance to my neighborhood. Baton Rouge, LA. Notice the distressed chic in full effect. (Photo by the author).

My house is located in what used to be a forced labor camp. I live in the deep south. Baton Rouge, Louisiana. There’s no escape, it seems, from the landscapes of slavery.

Consider my daily commute to work. I drive 1.9 miles from my subdivision to my office at Louisiana State University. In that circa 2 mile journey I drive out of…

--

--

Stephen Andes
The Pop Culturist

Pop Culture is everywhere. And all of it has a history. It tells us who we are and who we want to be. Next Book: Speedy Gonzales. https://zorrosghost.com/