Artist feedback

Steve Brackenrich Jr
4 min readApr 29, 2020

--

We sent out a survey asking local artists what they think about the current state of the art world and how they are coping.

Diana Ryman of Ravenna, bookbinding & watercolors

Photo courtesy Diana Ryman

Has covid-19 affected your creative routine? How?
“Not really. I’m retired so already spending more time at home. There are days that feel a bit more depressing and anxiety-ridden due to the constant news from around the world. But I’ve learned quickly to minimize my exposure to TV and social media.”

Main Street Ravenna’s “Art on Main” is postponed until 2021 due to covid19. What are your thoughts?
I haven’t attended this event in past years due to time conflicts, but was looking forward to it this year. It’s a shame it had to be postponed until 2021, but it is for the safety of everyone concerned. I’m praying that our country has a solution to COVID-19 before then.

Do you have any words of encouragement for area artists as we ride this out?Breathe in, breathe out. Repeat. Make a list of the things that distract you from creating. Make a plan to limit or avoid those things each day. Make a list of things you are grateful for. What inspires you? Make time each day for indulging in inspiration. Be gentle with yourself. This is a hard time for everyone. We will get through it together. I’m always game for a Zoom art meet up. dianaryman@gmail.com

Dear Diana, We will get through this, I have confidence that a vaccine will be found soon, there are a lot of talented healthcare people working on it. Ever since I heard the Mister Rogers saying recently “look for the helpers” I have been doing just that. When things start to look bleak, that helps me stay inspired, to look for helpers and be a helper. — SB

Katie Sekelsky, CompanyPiper Valley Studio of Kent
(instagram.com/piper.valley)
Pen & ink drawings and illustration (and, less prolifically, photography)

photo courtesy Katie Sekelsky

Has covid-19 affected your creative routine? How?
I’ve been doing a lot more drawing, actually. At the beginning of quarantine, I asked my Facebook friends to suggest types of birds, and I’ve been working my way through the list, drawing birds to send off to my friends (and possibly sell as prints at some point in the future). Now, if I could just motivate myself to work on the larger scale project I have in the works that I’ve been procrastinating on since long before COVID-19 was a concern.

Main Street Ravenna’s “Art on Main” is postponed until 2021 due to covid19. What are your thoughts?
It’s certainly a disappointment, but I am completely understanding and respectful of all similar decisions being made for 2020 events.

Do you have any words of encouragement for area artists as we ride this out?
I give you all permission to NOT take my art output as inspiration. If you don’t feel like creating, give yourself a break. This is hard, and you should cope in whatever ways make you feel okay. There’s no rule that you have turn a hardship into something beautiful. You can just declare “this sucks!” and spend another day watching through 30 Rock yet again. Whatever you can find that gets you through this, as long as you’re not putting anyone else at risk, is a good thing.

Dear Katie, thank you for sharing that candid perspective. It is okay to acknowledge this is a bad situation, for sure. I’ve found comfort myself with lots of sci-fi and ice cream. Too much, maybe, I need to have my cholesterol checked! Your work is amazing thank you for sharing your instagram link. — SB

Steve, Judy’s Jewelry Basket of South Euclid,
Handcrafted sterling silver jewelry. Repurposed jewelry from flatware and vintage brooches.

Photo courtesy Judy’s Jewelry Basket

Has covid-19 affected your creative routine? How?
Keeps us in the studio creating and developing our online presence.

Main Street Ravenna’s “Art on Main” is postponed until 2021 due to covid19. What are your thoughts?
Good idea. Better to wait until a vaccine and more therapy drugs are available.

Do you have any words of encouragement for area artists as we ride this out?
Stay positive. Use this time to create. Normally that’s hard to do when you hopping from show to show during the summer. Take an online class. You can always pickup a new tip or technique.

Dear Steve, never stop learning! It’s good for the mind and good for the soul.
— SB

anonymous, ceramics

Has covid-19 affected your creative routine? How?
Yes. We have had to take on other jobs to fill financial gaps due to multiple shows being cancelled. This has left little time for studio work lately.

Main Street Ravenna’s “Art on Main” is postponed until 2021 due to covid19. What are your thoughts?
Although I understand the magnitude of the threat and agree with instituting protective measures, its very disappointing. It’s potentially financially devastating to artists who rely on income generated during the summer festival season.

Do you have any words of encouragement for area artists as we ride this out?
Just keep making, this will be behind us one day.

Dear anonymous, we will get through this. We did it a hundred years ago and will do it again. Hang in there! — SB

--

--

Steve Brackenrich Jr

Steve Brackenrich Jr. is a 43-year-old stay-at home dad, graphic designer, mask-maker, and advocate of forces good in Ravenna, Ohio.