Submitted interview

Cardiologist Dr. Ahmed Mahmoud joins University Hospitals Portage Medical Center

The Portager
The Portager
Published in
3 min readAug 5, 2020

--

UH Portage sent us this interview with their new cardiologist, Dr. Ahmed Mahmoud. We’re happy to welcome him to the community.

You specialize in interventional cardiology. Can you tell the community a little bit about what you do?

An interventional cardiologist is simply a heart doctor who is also trained to fix heart diseases using minimally invasive procedures. This includes fixing blockages in heart vessels using catheters, small balloons and small metal stents. These blockages could happen slowly over time, or quickly in the instance of heart attack.

What types of cardiology issues do you solve? When should community members seek care from you?

I am an internist and cardiologist by training, so I can treat a wide spectrum of heart and vascular diseases, including atherosclerosis, hypertension, diabetes, heart valve disease and arrhythmia. With that being said, I am specialized in interventional cardiology, including treatment of complex atherosclerotic heart vessels disease with catheters and other devices such as laser and calcium removing devices. Another aspect of my profession is treating life threatening emergencies such as heart attacks, severe heart failure with placement of devices inside the heart to pump blood and drainage of fluids from around the heart.

How long have you been practicing medicine? What is your favorite part about being a physician?

I have been practicing since 2010. My first decade anniversary is this month. Being a physician has always been a privilege. You are trusted with another human being’s health and life, and that has always been a big deal for me. What I like most about being a physician is the feeling of self gratitude that is accomplished after seeing a patient feeling better following an intervention. This is even more pronounced in sicker patients, such as those coming with a heart attack, which was the main reason that drew me to interventional cardiology.

Where are you from? Where did you work previously? What drew you to UH Portage Medical Center and Portage County?

I was born in Burlington, Vt., from two Egyptian parents who also happen to be physicians. Given the fact that my parents used to travel a lot, I have been exposed to multiple cultures and ethnicities across the globe. I worked at multiple large medical centers across the world, including the largest tertiary hospital in Cairo, Egypt, Ain-Shams; the largest tertiary hospital in Doha, Qatar; the No. 1 hospital in Florida, University of Florida; and the No. 1 hospital in Washington, University of Washington. What drew me to UH Portage was the extremely friendly nature and collegiality of all the staff and CEOs, which reflects a lot on the nature of the working environment. The first impression that I got after seeing UH Portage is that it is a place with a lot of potential of becoming a local and regional pioneer in the field of cardiovascular medicine management. There is a huge need for cardiovascular and interventional cardiology treatment and education here in Portage County.

Any other details you’d like to share — other professional interests, hobbies, family life, etc.?

I am who you can call a family guy. I spend most of my spare time and vacation with my wife and two kids. I am also a math nerd. I love learning and doing statistics during my spare time. I believe that it is fundamental for a cardiologist and a physician to deeply understand statistics, as it helps you to determine good studies from bad ones, which in turn reflects on your profession and being able to improve the outcomes of your patients.

Anything else you’d like to add?

I would like to say that I am extremely excited to start my new career here at UH Portage and looking forward to taking care of the community and their families here.

Dr. Mahmoud’s office is located at:
UH Portage Professional Center
6847 N. Chestnut St. suite 100
Ravenna, Ohio 44266

To make an appointment, call 330–297–6110.

Correction: An earlier version of this article displayed an incorrect submitted photo of Dr. Mahmoud.

Click here to receive The Portager in your inbox

We’re the only locally owned news source covering Portage County, Ohio. Our mission is to help our community thrive. You can help us grow.

--

--

The Portager
The Portager

We’re the only locally owned news source covering Portage County, Ohio. Our mission is to help our community thrive.