A crowd of students flee tear gas leading up to the Kent State shooting. (Photo by Ohio State Highway Patrol)

May 4 massacre

May 4 and Covid-19, moments that shape our lives forever

The cumulative stress of those years influenced the way I live my life today

Mary Lang
The Portager
Published in
3 min readMay 3, 2020

--

My family lives in Kent, and while I did not attend college at Kent State University on May 4, 1970, the way I live my life continues to be affected by the events on that day.

I work at Oberlin College. Last week, I was in a Zoom meeting that included three undergraduate students, and at the end of the meeting, their professor asked them to tell us their plans for the summer. A somber mood descended on the group as each student recounted how their plans and internships had been cancelled because of the virus and they couldn’t be sure what was going to happen next in their lives.

The long, silent pause that followed their explanations spoke volumes as no one knew how to reply, so I told them my story.

I was a freshman at Ohio State in the spring of 1970. The Ohio State campus was in great turmoil at the time with ongoing daily protests about the Vietnam War and Richard Nixon’s role in it, and woman’s rights. Well-known professional protesters from around the United States came to Ohio State regularly to speak on the Oval (a designated outdoor student gathering place in the center of campus), including members of the Black Panthers, Angela Davis and Abby Hoffman. There was ongoing public dialogue between various factions as you walked across campus to class and tensions were high.

This background drowned out everyone’s ability to concentrate on academics. We often went to class and had heated discussions about current events and politics.

On May 4, 1970, after the Kent State shootings, the entire Ohio State campus was shut down and we were told to go home immediately. I returned to my family in Kent. My father had an office downtown, and my brothers and sisters and I helped him remove everything from his office. He was afraid someone would break in and steal sensitive information or attempt to set the building on fire.

Over the summer tensions remained high. When I returned to Ohio State for my sophomore year, it was like a war zone.

The national guard lined every sidewalk and stood sentry at every academic building with bayonets. Helicopters flew overhead and reported any group of more than three people. Innocent students were arrested, and we learned how to post bond for our friends and roommates who had been taken to the Columbus jail.

The Ohio State campus was filled with rage and disgust, especially since the message had been sent that college students lives were at risk after the Kent State shooting. Finally, to prevent further violence in the spring of 1971, the national guard tear gassed the entire Ohio State campus and we were told to leave campus immediately, many of us without our belongings.

Starting with the Kent State shootings and the circumstances surrounding it, the cumulative stress of those two years had a strong influence on me and the way I live my life today. Every time I see those pictures of the national guardsmen pointing their rifles at innocent Kent State college students, it brings tears to my eyes, and I remember the intense moments of fear for my own life that I had as a freshman and sophomore college student in America.

There was no escaping what I learned during those times. First and foremost, I learned to take an active role in politics and pay attention to destructive trends in our society. I learned to confront social forces that hurt others and the importance of always figuring out ways to support our democracy.

I don’t dwell on the past, and I am not sure I ever really processed the events surrounding May 4, 1970, until I told my story to those Oberlin students. I guess I wanted to comfort them and myself as I told them that while today’s events will pass, they will shape the way you live your life forever.

Click here to receive The Portager in your inbox

We’re the only locally owned news source covering Portage County, Ohio. Our mission is to help our community thrive. You can help us grow.

--

--