Opinion

Return of former chief to Facebook leaves unanswered questions

Former Brimfield Police Chief David A. Oliver has returned after an absence of five years, five months and 21 days (Oliver’s count, not mine. I don’t have that kind of time on my hands.)

The Portager
The Portager
Published in
3 min readJun 17, 2020

--

By Tim Troglen

I was surprised last week as I was perusing my Facebook feed and saw a blast from my internet past had returned in full comical column form.

It appeared that a former Facebook star who made observations of the daily goings on of law enforcement and politics with a humorous twist that touched all ages, had returned.

Former Brimfield Police Chief David A. Oliver had returned after an absence of five years, five months and 21 days (Oliver’s count, not mine. I don’t have that kind of time on my hands.)

Let me be clear, I’m not a follower of blogs. Nor am I a fan of Facebook pages filled with self-aggrandizing posts of happiness and flowery prose touting the owner’s ideological take on current events, religious meanderings or how to cook the latest dish from the newest cable cooking sensation.

However, years ago, after reading a few of Oliver’s ideas on criminals (whom he called “mopes”) in his homespun Sheriff Andy manner, I became attached to his daily updates.

“The Chief,” as he was known, wrote to us “cousins” about the stupidity of the mopes and the comical ways they got themselves incarcerated.

Oftentimes I would message Oliver and even covered a few local book signings on his book tour.

Not only did I meet Oliver a few times during his climb to fame, but my mother had heard about him and became a fan. The guy even had a talk show on a local radio station that I enjoyed. Oliver was rapidly gaining a national fan base, which included me.

Police departments across the country began to develop an internet presence like Oliver. He seemed as patriotic as he was honest with his pro-America and flag-waving stance.

Then it ended.

In 2015, Oliver, then 48, was hit with four first-degree misdemeanor charges. The charges were brought Brimfield prosecutors after what the state Bureau of Criminal Investigation called a year-long investigation of the chief’s conduct.

Oliver was convicted of assault, attempted theft in office, unauthorized use of property and one count of unlawful restraint. A female officer said Oliver groped her and physically forced her into positions she didn’t want to be in. She said in court the chief of making lewd comments and forcing “bear hugs” on her.

Suddenly Oliver was on the other side of the law as he lost his badge, his career and thousands of once-faithful followers.

I was disappointed and disturbed enough to write a column about his downfall and my mixed feelings about his actions.

However, through it all I wished him the best and tried not to make any snap judgements about the events surrounding the charges and his firing.

And to keep that fairness going, I reached out to Oliver for a comment. I’ll let you know if he returns my messages.

In Oliver’s newest post, he said he and the family are doing well. After losing his badge, Oliver worked as an investigator for a Fortune 500 company.

I can’t speak for anyone else, but I’m interested to read about what’s been going on in Oliver’s life.

I’m a believer in second chances. I’ve had a few myself.

Oliver offered an apology to his scores of faithful followers who flooded his Facebook page on his first day back.

“This apology is directed towards anyone I may have offended, let down or otherwise caused angst — I am truly sorry. I could have done some things better and should have,” he wrote. “I ask for your forgiveness.”

I’m willing to forgive. Are you?

Oliver also promised to set the criminal record straight eventually. However, he is not allowed to discuss a federal lawsuit he was involved in. The only information I can find about a federal lawsuit is when he asked a Columbus judge to expunge his criminal charges. The request was denied.

I’m not sure how many forgiving folks are out there today, but I’m going to give another listen. I might even text Oliver again a time or two.

Oliver called the charges against him a “public beheading.”

That ensures I’ll tune in — I’ve always loved a horror story.

Boo…

Tim Troglen is a Portager contributor and former Summit County Sheriff’s deputy.

Click here to receive The Portager in your inbox

We’re the only locally owned news source covering Portage County, Ohio. Our mission is to help our community thrive. You can help us grow.

--

--

The Portager
The Portager

We’re the only locally owned news source covering Portage County, Ohio. Our mission is to help our community thrive.