10 Fundamental Life Lessons That I Didn’t Learn Until My Thirties

If you can learn these earlier, you’ll be WAY better off.

Jason Gutierrez
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Robert V. Ruggiero/Unsplash

Life is full of lessons.

The longer you live, the more you (hopefully) learn.

Here are some fundamental lessons that took me until 30 to fully understand.

1. Acquire knowledge not stuff

Stuff weighs you down. Knowledge sets you free.

I used to spend a lot of money on cars, expensive phones, and other electronics.

Now, I spend it on books and online courses, which are far less expensive (saving money is wonderful), and they expand my overall knowledge, helping me to earn even more money in the future.

2. You are your best investment

401(k)’s, IRAs, Tesla, and Bitcoin are all great investments (as of today). But you are a far better investment than those will ever be.

There are lots of ways to invest in yourself — buy a gym membership (and actually go), read books, sleep 8 hours a night, talk to a therapist, etc.

When you make these investments, you improve your overall “score” as a human, which elevates your confidence, your well-being, your…

--

--

Jason Gutierrez
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Engineer. Papa. Each week, I share short essays and stories on careers, life, and the creative process 🖊: https://parttimewriting.beehiiv.com/subscribe