21 Character-Building Truths I Wish I Knew When I was 21

Crossing the barrier into the next decade of life with some valuable insights.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
8 min readAug 16, 2021

--

Anangsha Alammyan on Instagram

Your 20s are a weird phase in your life.

You’ve just started earning. You’ve begun to realize that things you say hold power to sway the decisions of older family members. You’ve just tasted power. You know what true freedom feels like.

Your whole life is ahead of you. You can do just about anything you want.

And that’s where the problem begins.

You feel you’re invincible, that you can do nothing wrong. This puts you in a position of vulnerability. Your dreams get bigger than your heart can handle, filling you with this mad rush to accomplish every single goal immediately.

If you’ve ever felt overwhelmed that way, this post is for you. It lists 21 lessons I’ve learned in life which would have greatly helped me had I known them when I was 21.

1. Take that nap!

I know a nap is probably the last thing on your priority list right now, but trust me, the other ten things would get infinitely easier if you take a 20-minute nap.

2. Don’t worry about your age

--

--