3 Questions to Keep Your Career in an Upward Trajectory

Go with the flow, but don’t drown in the river.

Vishal Kataria
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

how to be happy in life
Photo: Priscilla Du Preez/Unsplash

In 2018, I started a content marketing firm. Within a few months, I was making more money than ever. But it wasn’t long before the work stopped feeling fulfilling.

Many clients didn’t get content marketing. They wanted the results I promised by following their processes. I spent a disproportionate amount of time and energy in futile meetings. My own learning plateaued, to the extent that I could feel I was growing dumber.

So in November 2020, I pulled down the shutters for good. The pandemic didn’t kill my business. (In fact, enquiries increased after September) but it killed my motivation to fight for the agency’s survival and growth.

I discovered that no amount of money could compensate for the emptiness I felt by doing something that didn’t make me feel happy. I also discovered that:

  1. I could actually do more with less.
  2. Money alone does not bring happiness.
  3. Happiness is not a pursuit, it’s a byproduct of meaningful work.

Many people have woken up to these epiphanies in 2020 and 2021. The work we do no longer justifies the toll it exerts on our mental health, relationships, and lives. More…

--

--

Vishal Kataria
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

I write to teach myself and hit “Publish” when I think it might help you.