3 Reasons Why Office Jobs Are No Longer a Rite of Passage

We need to teach young people that deviating from the corporate route is not a sign of failure

Violet Daniels
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Tima Miroshnichenko/Pexels

When I was younger, I imagined that I would be working in a fancy office and travelling to work in a stiff suit every day by the time I approached my mid-twenties. I didn’t know what I would be doing exactly, but this is how I imagined it to be.

Some graduates feel pressured into securing a corporate, office-based or city job once three years at university are over. It’s considered a right of passage to some people, and it certainly was for me — for a while. At university, it’s the only real option (aside from further study) mentioned during career advisement sessions and leaflets given to us about planning out our future.

But the reality is, the pandemic has caused a seismic shift in the way we work, which will have long-term implications for the future. Universities need to be aware of this, and so do young people in general. Just because you have or never desired to chase a typical corporate job, it doesn’t mean you are any less successful or driven. You simply prefer a different style of work.

Luckily for us, the world is changing and adapting to new forms of working, and this is just the beginning.

--

--

Violet Daniels
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Full time content writer navigating the world one word at a time | Top writer in books & reading | Aspiring novelist | 📚 https://www.violet-daniels.com/