3 Ways Hosting Events Has Advanced My Career

Scott Asai
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
3 min readAug 31, 2018

My first experience at a network event was terrible.

As an introvert I recited my elevator pitch, passed out business cards and left with a hoarse voice. After my second event I was done.

But as an entrepreneur without customers you only have a hobby.

Something had to change.

The simple mental shift from networking to connecting opened up a new world of possibilities. In 2011, I approached a friend who owned a coffee shop about hosting free events after they closed and somehow I sold him on it.

For the next two years I hosted monthly network events, recruited speakers, sponsors and met some great people I still consider friends to this day.

But then my wife and I had a child. I decided to put the events on hold and now 7 years and two children later I missed them so I started a new series.

Technology has allowed us to connect globally, but there’s still nothing like meeting face-to-face. Local events may seem like a disadvantage, but realistically it’s easier to build your business in your community.

This time around I’m more intentional about what I want to accomplish and here’s what I’ve learned:

1. Public Speaking

If you want to become better at speaking in public you have to do more of it. Research all you want, but nothing will accelerate your growth like practice. I’ve forced myself over the years to take more emcee, speaking and hosting roles. I don’t always feel comfortable and at times I still get nervous, but I’ve come a long way. If you want to exude confidence to a group of people at once, speak. Of course, you need to become more polished, but being in front of a crowd exposes all your strengths and weaknesses in a moment. Sounds terrifying, but it’s actually exhilarating. The next opportunity you get to speak, don’t think about it. Do it.

2. Credibility

The advantage of hosting events is orchestrating the format. I get to choose speaker based on who I meet. My strength as a host is to be the facilitator. I use a fireside chat format where I interview the speaker, let him/her be the star, yet chime in when I have value to add. It’s almost like the grander the speaker, the more credible it makes me look. An underrated benefit of hosting events is that you build your network. By bringing in talent, people recognize yours. In fact I’ve been asked to host events for speakers I’ve recruited because they liked the way I organize them. It helps to discuss topics I can relate to, but it’s not a prerequisite. The higher caliber speaker, the bigger the draw. I’m grounded enough to prefer the speaker be more accomplished than me. Everyone wins that way.

3. Advertising

Ultimately the long-term strategy is to build my business. Hosting events is exposure that you’d never get otherwise. The people I network with can become partners in the future. From a personal and professional standpoint events are like free commercials for what I do. Hearing someone speak is like interviewing them. The way I construct the schedule creates an expectation and experience for the audience. Done right it results in return attendees. You should care about how the event goes, but put as much effort into the follow up with guests too. No matter how charismatic you are, there’s no way you can have quality interactions with everyone who shows up. Treat the event as a launch pad for beginning relationships. 10% is meeting someone at an event, 90% is the follow up you either do or don’t do afterwards.

There are still things I need to learn about hosting events, but I will say that I really enjoy organizing them. Sure I am exhausted after they’re over, but knowing I have a constant influx of new and return people to interact with makes it worth it.

My advice to you is if you’re looking to grow your lead generation while strengthening your brand, host events. If you ever want to talk or experience my style sign up below!

Your net worth is your network. So work on growing it.

--

--