“silhouette of man meditating on rock cliff during golden hour” by Dharm Singh on Unsplash

3 Years in a Temple to Reflect on a Broken Relationship.

Michael Burkhardt
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
8 min readSep 30, 2018

--

While traveling in Kyoto, Japan and staying at a Zazen temple, I had an interesting encounter.

I spoke to a former leftist who escaped Mexico to reflect on a broken relationship. He planned to stay for a few months.

Now it’s been three years.

In the following, you can read about his reflections on the broken relationship, desires and why he would be less angry if he had the chance to be 18 years old again.

In Buddhism, in general, the teaching is that the truth is right there but we do not look because we are constantly distracted.

When did you start meditating and how did you get into meditation?

I started doing Zazen six years ago. My girlfriend broke up with me and other things in my life were not going great, too. I was kind of depressed for a couple of months.

I recognized that I needed to do something about it but I had or have some problems with authority and I did not want to go to therapy. Then when I went to a bar with a group of friends…

--

--