5 Financial Habits I Learned from Dating an Accountant

How to manage your money like a professional

Emily Stubbs
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Ruthson Zimmerman/Unsplash

There are certain perks to dating an accountant. Of course, the potential for punny chat-up lines is one of them (‘appreciating assets,’ anyone?).

Dating one for the last five years, I’ve learned a lot about managing my money. Accountants are professionally trained to manage money and help others do the same.

While we shared many of the same mindsets around money, the practical habits I have learned from my partner have changed my life. Without these practices, I would never have been able to buy a house at 23. I would have struggled to grow my emergency fund to the 12-month cushion my anxious brain needs to feel financially safe — all while just three years out of university and working at a not for profit.

Habit 1: Share accountability with someone

Ultimately, an accountant’s job is to work with people and businesses to manage their money.

As personal money-management expert, radio host, author, and businessman Dave Ramsay says, “everyone needs a budget. Because a budget helps you get ahead of your money, take control of your money goals, punch debt in the teeth and knock it out of your life forever, and so much more.”

--

--

Emily Stubbs
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Policy and public affairs professional, marathon runner, spin class addict and data-driven lifestyle writer.