5 Important Things I Learned From Life After University

University does not have a monopoly on education

Tom Stevenson
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo by Vasily Koloda on Unsplash

When I graduated from university in 2011, I had no idea what I was going to do with my life. The three years went by so quickly, I didn’t have time to stop and think bout my future career path.

The only thing I knew with certainty was that I wanted to travel to Australia!

Once I left university I felt like I had let loose into the wild without any guidance. Years and years of formal education had not prepared for what awaited in the real world of work.

I felt like I had spent the previous years in a bubble, immune from the realities of the world. University is great, but it’s not the best at preparing you for life outside of it.

When I look back at my time in university, I wonder what I got out of it. On the social side, I made friends with a lot of brilliant people, but I was underwhelmed by the academic side of things.

I’ve always felt like I didn’t learn all that much during my three years of studying history. Sure, I learnt a lot about historical events and different interpretations of these, but nothing groundbreaking that changed my world view.

--

--