5 Major Life Challenges I Overcame to Survive My 20s

#1 was no joke

Jason Gutierrez
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Tim Gouw/Unsplash

Life’s a never-ending track event full of hurdles and competitors. Some of them you leap over or pass with ease, others you plow through like The Waterboy, but most knock you on your ass to see if you have what it takes to get up and keep going.

I’ve overcome quite a few challenges in my life to get to where I am today (and I’ve still got a long way to go). At any rate, here are a few of the more notable ones:

1. Anxiety

I grew up a happy-go-lucky kid who played a ton of sports and paraded around the block with the neighborhood kids. Life was awesome…until it wasn’t.

Somewhere around the age of 17, the weight of the world came crashing down on my shoulders. For the first time, I felt what it was like to be human. I had aches and pains all over and an ever-growing tension in my head and neck. Little problems (life and medical) became insurmountable obstacles. I floundered for more than 6 years while trying to figure out what the hell was wrong with me.

At 23 or 24 years old, I finally realized anxiety was at the root of my problems, and it was something that, like most people, I had never been taught to manage. Once I got a handle on my anxiety, I feel like life started over for me, and I began a…

--

--

Jason Gutierrez
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Engineer. Papa. I share short essays and stories on careers, life, and the creative process 🖊: https://parttimewriting.beehiiv.com/subscribe