5 Practical Ways to Save More Money Without a Salary Raise

You don’t have to wait until you earn more to save.

Desiree Peralta
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Karolina Grabowska/Pexels

“I will save money when I have a better job. Currently, I can only pay my bills.”

I have heard this phrase more times than I would like throughout my life. Many people believe they cannot save because they do not earn enough to put money into an account.

However, they’re missing an important point: Rather than focusing on making more money to save, you should simply be focused on making a start.

“If you can find a way to save $100 a month, eventually, you will find a way to save $1000”

It is more important to start saving your first $100 dollars than having $10,000 to start saving because it’s about creating a habit, getting a start from which you can build.

When I was 17, I got my first job: Repair Macbooks for $350 a month. At that time, I paid for my university ($400 dollars every 4 months), I paid for my transportation and my expenses, and also, I saved.

Many people who earned $600 at that moment could not pay for college because “their salary was not enough,” and many times, they had to stop studying for a whole semester.

--

--

Desiree Peralta
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Turning ideas into reality. Programmer by profession, Writer by passion. Finance and business advice. | Weekly money advice https://dessyperalt.substack.com/