50 Lessons from 50 Months of Freelancing

Don’t make mistakes other people already made

Ariel Lim
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: JESHOOTS.COM/Unsplash

Since I got fired from my last corporate job, I have been a freelance marketing consultant full-time. Today marks the 50th month from that terrible experience — not the firing part, but the circumstances around it.

So, I sat down, looked back at the past few years, and started writing the lessons I’ve learned over the years. If you’re new to freelancing, I hope these tips can help you avoid future headaches and make your freelancing journey a little bit easier.

Tip 1: Create a Website

I launched my website in 2014. That’s two years before I started full-time with my consulting practice. I was already doing some side gigs then.

And since I was in marketing, I thought to myself I needed to build my own brand. I didn’t know what I was doing. I picked out a host, WordPress, some random theme, and continue tweaking.

What does this have to do with freelancing? Because it increases trust and authority. I can’t count how many times I’ve gotten an interview simply because I mentioned my website in the application.

There are many reasons why a website is necessary, but here’s how it helps you with freelancing:

--

--

Ariel Lim
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Marketer, freelancer, husband | The Startup, Better Marketing, The Ascent, PGSG | Find out how I grew my organic traffic by 110% in 5 mo: https://bit.ly/3fpilkW