Magical Thinking Coaches Are Lying To You

Here’s 6 things I learned

Heidi Thompson
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo by Alexander Mils on Unsplash

My friend Mindy* never worries about money.

She’s a self-published author and writing coach. She teaches yoga and meditation. And she used to work on Wall Street as a stock broker.

One day, many years ago, Mindy woke up to find that all of her millions were gone. Her then-husband had gambled them away.

Mindy describes this event as a trauma. But she’s resilient. She picked up the broken pieces of her life and started over (without him).

I met Mindy a few years after this event. Until she told me the details of her past, I never would have guessed that something like that had happened to her. She’s a cheerful, determined glass-half-full kind of person.

A couple of years into our friendship, I asked Mindy how she finds her clients. She was the only person I knew working in the life coaching industry who didn’t also have a day job.

Mindy looked at me and said, “You know Heidi, it’s like magic. I just write down what I want, as if I already have it, and then it just happens.”

Mindy, I love you, but no. That’s not why you get clients.

1. Magical Thinking Won’t Make You Rich

--

--