7 Reasons Why I Don’t Use My College Degree

Hi. Another psych major here.

Rashida Beal
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo courtesy of the author and the University of Minnesota

“Get a degree in a field that earns money.”

That was one of the oh-so-wise sentiments I heard from my father time and time again as I prepared for college, and then again after I began my psychology undergrad degree.

You see, my dad is a very successful “Chief Technologist” (according to his LinkedIn), and has a Management Computer Systems Bachelor of Science Degree. Yeah, he got a degree, got a job in the exact field, then worked his way up. So naturally, he thinks that’s the only reasonable model to follow.

My dad is one of those people that looks down on “kids” that pay for a college education they don’t use.

I’m one of those “kids”.

Oops.

Here’s why I spent four years earning a Bachelor of Science in Psychology degree that I don’t use.

1. Few graduates have a job in their major

Before I dig into the nitty-gritty of my own path, it’s important to note that the phenomenon of working outside your college major isn’t rare. According to the U.S Bureau of the Census 2010 American Community Survey, only 27% of college grads had a job closely related to their major.

--

--

Rashida Beal
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Professional athlete, psychology graduate, & freelance writer. Sharing my life lessons, writing advice, and musings. Want to support? ko-fi.com/rashidabeal