8 Life Lessons I’ve Learned at 40-Something That I Wish I’d Known at 20-Something

Some of the things that come with age are great. Awareness is one of them.

Shannon Hilson
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Anna Pritchard/Unsplash

My 40s are a lot different than I thought they’d be when I was still in my 20s. On the one hand, I have a much deeper understanding of why my dad liked naps so much when I was a kid. I’ve learned not to ever fall asleep in an awkward position if I want to be able to walk the next day. I can’t just eat whatever I want anymore if I don’t want to suffer the horrible consequences either.

However, I’m also a lot more aware and secure in myself than I thought I’d be at this age. I’m calmer. I don’t sweat the small stuff nearly as much. And I’ve learned a thing or three about life that I wish I’d understood a lot earlier on. Here are some of the more important ones. Do yourself a favor and get this stuff straight now so you don’t have to do what I did and learn the hard way.

1. There’s no such thing as too late or too old.

When I was younger, I was super concerned about whether or not I was keeping up with other people my age when it came to the big milestones in life. I was never what you’d call an overachiever, so I didn’t care whether I was the first of my friends to get married or…

--

--

Shannon Hilson
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Pro copywriter and blogger. Midjourney enthusiast. Avid storyteller. She-wolf. | Email: bellingthecat@gmail.com | Links: https://linktr.ee/shannonhilson