A Beautiful Thing Just Happened Today…

The_Amuser
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
3 min readMay 8, 2018
Photo by Matthew Fassnacht on Unsplash

I was taking an Uber at around 9pm to visit my cousins.

I hadn’t been there in years and I only had a vague memory of where their house was located. I also didn’t exactly know the name of their estate but i put the destination pin right next to where I thought they lived.

Long story short, we got lost.

Not only was it around 9.30p.m, but it was raining as well so my attempts to try and recall the direction to their place bore no fruits.

To make matters worse, none of my cousins was picking up their phones when I tried calling them, and the driver had already accepted another ride request assuming that we had arrived at my intended destination.

Visibly embarrassed for not knowing where my cousins lived, and feeling guilty for delaying the driver from picking up his next ride, I offered to alight so that the driver can proceed with his business, and I would request another Uber instead.

Not All Heroes Wear Capes

“A male fighter standing in the ring wearing boxing gloves in Chiang Mai” by Ryan Tang on Unsplash

The Uber driver, on sensing my discomfort and hopelessness, utterly refused to go along with my suggestion. He insisted that there was no way he was going to leave me alone and confused on a deserted road just so that he could make some extra cash from another passenger.

This totally blew my mind.

Being a person who has always grown up in a society where most business people only care about their bottom line, I was amazed at his selflessness. Here was a random Uber Driver, willing to disappoint another waiting rider, willing to get cancelled on and his ratings probably affected, just so that he could help me get to my destination safely.

I was touched.

What followed next was us going round in circles, asking other drivers on the road for help and me trying to unsuccessfully reach my cousins. There were also angry calls from the other waiting rider who wondered why he was kept waiting for so long, but my driver professionally explained the situation to him.

After about half an hour, my cousin finally called back and directed us to the right location. We got there well, I paid the driver, and thanked him for his kindness. I also left him an excellent rating and contacted support and informed them of his kindness and requested them to recognize him( I hope they do).

And thus ends my tale :)

My 2 cents: This world needs more people like that Uber driver. People who are kind, selfless, and helpful despite the fact that there might not be anything in for them. People who care about their fellow human being than profit.

Originally appeared on https://theamuser.wordpress.com

If you liked this story, give me some ❤ by banging that 👏👏button so that other people can find it too. You can clap up to 50 😄.

I am The_Amuser and I don’t know shit. Am just sharing musings about life through the eyes of a Kenyan college student on a tight budget :D

If you enjoy my content, please consider supporting what I do. Thank you!

--

--

The_Amuser
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Kenyan CS student on a budget :D. I share life lessons learnt, and musings about life as seen through my eyes https://www.theamuser.wordpress.com