Basic Health Tips for Taking Better Care of Yourself

Think of me like a concerned parent

Amy Usherwood
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
5 min readJun 9, 2020

--

Photo: Jamie Street/Unsplash

Nearing the end of 2019, I scrolled through my social media feed, and came across hundreds of posts from people proclaiming their 2020 Resolutions, 2020 Intentions and “2020 is my year!”. Eventually the clock stroke midnight, and in the blink of an eye, we gladly welcomed the year 2020 with eager anticipation for not just a new year, but for the new decade before us. No one could have anticipated what would happen next. Murmurings, and here say of a virus outbreak in a small rural area of China. It wasn’t until the end of February or the early days of March where news began visiting us on our North American door step, and our lives began changing forever.

March, April, May… and now we find ourselves in June, where we have not only been in isolation, but people of colour, and the world as a whole, have had enough with injustice. There are many articles examining the two, current major events of this year, and I don’t feel compelled to visit them in this article. However, I do encourage you to educate yourself, and find resources from reliable sources with wise voices. Not just voices, but wise voices.

This is about remembering to take care of yourself.

In a world that feels like perpetual chaos, mental and physical health seem to have taken a dangerous backseat to the current climate. This however does not change the fact that our bodies still require the same nutrients and care it always has. I am a believer that nutrition and healthy eating play a large role in mental health, so though I acknowledge that there are indeed other ways to care for mental health, this is about the basics of the basics, and the things that I have personally found beneficial for me. As a full disclosure, I am not a health professional. I am an individual who has done research, and felt the extreme benefits of implementing these basic elements into my own life.

Drink more water.

This one revolutionized my life. Sure I have to pee a lot more in the middle of the night, but the benefits out way the cons. I’m less groggy in the evenings. My mind is less cloudy. I’m able to exercise and perform far better than before. The worst thing you can do is only drink when you’re thirsty. You’re body needs liquids, and — if you’re like me — the temptation is to only drink when it’s dry or you’re doing an activity. This makes your body constantly dehydrated, because you’re not giving it what it really needs. Not only does water help you’re brain function and over all performance, it’s also known to help with weight loss, and a few other awesome benefits!

Practical Tip: If you have a hard time remebering to drink water, I found it a lot easier to remember when I bought myself a water bottle with a straw. The straw is because I can be lazy, and let’s be honest, most of us are. Just find the right bottle or method that works best for you, and start drinking more water!

Eat fruits and vegetables.

It turns out your mom and dad were right! Even though nachos, quick and easy box foods, and greasy delights seem tastier, the reality is that they’re not as friendly to you, as you might be to them. Fruits and veggies give your body the rich nutrients it needs, for your body to perform at it’s best — for you! As someone with a huge sweet tooth, and an extreme love for all things pizza, those things have never fuelled me as well as a veggie stirfry, or carrot sticks and hummus. Let’s just say, I never regret eating a bag of carrots, but I do often regret eating a whole pizza. For more benefits to fruits and vegetables, I’ll let Harvard tell you.

Practical Tip: I have found the best to make sure i’m eating a generous portion of greens and everything in between, is by spending time prepping. Buy what you’d like to eat (ie. carrots, peppers, cherry tomatoes, etc.) and spend time slicing and dicing. Do what you must, to make it as easy and accessible as possible! You’re far more likely to eat a peeled, and chopped carrot than a carrot still in it’s bag that still needs TLC.

Go for walks.

Let’s be honest — ever since gyms closed down, some of us haven’t continued our workout schedule. But here’s the thing, walking (or any exercise for that matter) isn’t just beneficial for weight loss, but studies show that it is in fact beneficial for mental health. Especially if your job involves sitting all day, the best thing for you is to take at least 3, 15 minute walks a day. Our bodies were never created to be stationary, so please consider throwing some shoes on and taking a short walk even after reading this! Remember that anything is better than nothing. We’re not training for the Boston marathon, you’re simply helping your body and mind function as best it can.

Practical Tip: If you live with someone, go on walks together. Nothing is more motivating that when you feel like you’re not alone! If you are on your own, be sure to set a timer every couple of hours or so, or make it a habit to take a short walk after breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can do it! It’s certainly changed my life, and if you commit to it, I am sure it will help change yours!

Please help yourself, and those around you by taking care of your body and mind. These tips are natural, easy to implement changes that i’m certain will only benefit you, and small ways to help us all think a bit more clearly and, feel a bit more healthy too.

What have you got to lose?

The Mini Post-Grad Survival Guide

A 5-day email course with amazing tips on budgeting, investing, and productivity for 20-somethings. Sign up for free.

--

--

Amy Usherwood
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Christian of the reformed variety. Graphic Designer, Illustrator, and Singer-Songwriter based in Ottawa, ON.