Being a “digital nomad” doesn’t make you interesting

There’s more to the story that you’re not telling

Sarah Aboulhosn
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

I’ve been in Bali for almost three months now and while at first meeting so many like minded nomads was great and eye-opening, I’ll be honest.

The whole “I quit my 9–5 because I felt unfulfilled and wanted to travel the world” story has lost its novelty.

Maybe it’s from over-exposure to the lifestyle and or from being around other “digital nomads” for an extended period, but if I have to hear that story one more time, I might scream.

Last week, I attended a talk at a local co-working space. They host 50+ talks per month. Some of them are value bombs and I leave feeling inspired and ready. Unfortunately, when your goal is to host events in high quantity, the quality drops. A lot of the talks, regardless of subject matter, begin the same way.

“So a little bit about me. I was working doing X, but my real passion is Y. I hit a breaking point and knew I had to make a change in my life. I quit my job/broke up with my girlfriend/sold my house, and bought a one-way ticket. Now I’m in control of my life doing X, and I have the freedom to blah blah blah.”

Not that it’s not the truth. Most people (not all) you meet who are working remotely in a place like…

--

--

Sarah Aboulhosn
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Occasional writer, and serial project-starter/abandoner. I have a lot of feelings.