Don’t Quit Your Job (Build a 5-to-9 Instead)

How to find the time you supposedly don’t have for your side gig

Declan Wilson
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Andrea Piacquadio/Pexels

I get it.

You hate your job. You wish you could do something more meaningful with your life. You want more freedom, blah, blah, blah.

If it were 2015, I’d probably say something like “Quit your job! Follow your dreams! Who wants to die shackled to their cubicle?”

When I left my full-time job to do God-knows-what, I even low-key bragged about it.

Many of my projects don’t yield positive financial returns. But the growth I experience and the knowledge I collect by challenging myself with new projects is an investment in myself.

Yikes.

Do you know what happens when your “projects don’t yield positive financial returns?” You end up $26,000 in debt, emotionally scarred, and a bit more jaded than you should be.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, don’t quit your job. If someone is willing to pay you every other week for showing up and sitting at a desk, by all means, take the damn money.

But…

If you dream of having a bit more freedom one day, or affording an expensive vacation every year, or paying off the house early, or having something…

--

--