Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

Eat Your Dreams For Dinner: The How of Healthy Hustle

Anna Gibson
7 min readFeb 28, 2019

--

“I just wanna be happy, don’t you want to be happy?”

-Gary Vee

I woke up at 3:30am on a Saturday. I hate waking up early-especially on my off days- but I couldn’t get it out of my mind. I’d been coding the night before. I was working on a particularly knotty programming problem. I fell asleep, exhausted, after staring at a pale screen for four hours that evening. Finally, I had an answer to my problem and began to work on it while building the rest of my program. I looked at the clock at 3:34am. When I looked at the clock again it was 10:00am. I didn’t even notice that the sun began to rise.

I define hustle as the relentless striving toward your goals, monetary or otherwise. When most people think of the word ‘hustle’, we might think of a public figure like Gary Vaynerchuk talking to thousands of his fans at a conference. We imagine Elon Musk walking between one of his two buildings, preparing to view one of his model Teslas. We might see Jocko Willink’s Instagram dash, where he takes a picture of his watch when he wakes up at 4:30am to motivate others to work out.

These are just three Titans of ‘hustle culture’. It’s no secret that these men are well respected in their fields. However, the concept of hustle has come under scrutiny. We’re cautioned against the dark side of…

--

--

Anna Gibson
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Buddhist. Journalist. Storyteller. Writer for ‘For Harriet’ and ‘The Mighty’. Journalist and Bibliophile.