Fun Work: How to Add It to Your Everyday

No matter how boring your job is, you can include fulfilling work in your day-to-day

Tiffany Verbeck
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Sincerely Media/Unsplash

Your nine-to-five is dreadful — as in, going into the office actively fills you with dread. Or you’re at a dead-end job that you know won’t go where you want to go. Or you’re so overworked that you feel like you have no time for fun anymore.

I have been there. In every one of these situations. You’re like me, and you have a desperate need for creativity and joy in your work life. And guess what? Even after I launched a freelance writing business, I still felt much of this.

The good news is that you don’t have to blast your life into outer space to make a change. Small steps make a big impact. Here are my top tips for starting to include fun work in your day-to-day.

Try one thing at a time

Sometimes you have too many plans. Too many thoughts rushing through your head. I could do this, or I could do that, or that, or that, or that.

If you have a million ideas and no idea which project to choose, check back in a month or so. I’m currently creating an online course about how to narrow down your next creative project and just pick one, for god’s sake.

--

--

Tiffany Verbeck
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Tiffany Verbeck uses her awesome storytelling skills gained from a master’s degree to write on personal finance, lifestyle, and creativity: tiffanyverbeck.com.