How Being an Entrepreneur Can Cause Lifelong Inner Turmoil

Could becoming an intrapreneur resolve this?

Ruth Miller-Anderson PhD
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

“There is only one success — to be able to spend your life in your own way.” Christopher Morley

As an only child, I grew up in a calm and nurturing environment where hard work and success was to be encouraged.

My parents regarded a 9-to-5 vocational job as essential to social status and financial security.

Businesses were for others to take the risk, with any resulting monetary success something to be admired, but acknowledged only as “how the other half live.”

It was therefore quite perplexing when this very settled and content professional couple unexpectedly had me 17 years into their marriage.

Why Was I Perplexing?

Growing up, I was always starting ventures. At primary school, one of these was a school magazine.

I used my pocket money to pay my ‘editorial team.’ This generosity resulted in another parent alerting my parents with concerns about where this money, neatly presented to their child in a paper pay packet, had actually come from.

It genuinely had come out of my own money. My mum was a company accountant and I’d sneaked the pay packets from her…

--

--

Ruth Miller-Anderson PhD
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Life & Business Success Strategist* Multi award-winning Pharmacist * Academic * Mentor* Chronic Invisible Illness Advocate * Mum * Wife * Lives in N Ireland*