How I Apply the Konmari Method to Packing Light

Hannah Victoria
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
3 min readApr 29, 2019

--

A friend of mine and his backpack on a trip to the Côte d’Émeraude

I love the feeling of traveling light. No need to check bags or lug around a suitcase, I just check in online and make my way to security.

I do this for all trips, even trips that have me crossing entire countries for a few weeks.

The thing is, I'm short and don't particularly enjoy carrying a lot of weight. Also I'd look pretty stupid carrying one of those enormous backpacks. Yes, I am that vain.

I want my backpack to be cute and functional and small enough that I can wear it without looking like the backpack is actually wearing me.

So how do you fit four weeks worth of clothes into a backpack that's the same size as your highschool one?

You don't.

Most of us pack for a trip like we're going to the moon with no return ticket. 5 day trip? Better pack 10 pairs of underwear just in case. Also 25 outfits, because you just never know.

Chances are, you aren't going to the moon and you won't change your habits that much either. Just like you stand in front of your closet every morning, only to pick that same favourite sweater, you'll probably find yourself wearing your favourite of the 25 outfits 3 days out of 5.

So just pack that one. Pack the sweater that makes you feel warm and safe, the…

--

--