How I Visited 24 States, 10 Countries, And Made $250,000 Before I Turned 28

Tom Kuegler
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
8 min readFeb 26, 2021

--

Photo by Chris Lawton on Unsplash

Four years ago, I got the nastiest comments I’ve ever received as a writer. Here’s a short excerpt:

“You lack the sales and marketing skills to find clients paying fair market rates. So, you write whiney articles on quitting and how this is ‘choosing yourself.’

Choosing yourself, means growing up, knuckling down and doing the things you don’t like very much to push your business forward. Choosing to be an ostrich is quitting and taking all your toys home.”

Ouch.

Three years ago, a guy named Nicholas Barang wrote that beneath one of my articles.

I never forgot his comment.

I screenshot it, saved it on my computer, and wrote him back..

That was back in August of 2017. I made it to Bali by May of the following year.

I wanted to lead with this story for one simple reason.

Most of why I was able to travel, build a 6-figure business, and pay off over $50,000 of student loan debt was because I believed I could do it.

--

--