How It is Like to Go Back to School After Years of Working

Roselle Gabuya
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
2 min readApr 2, 2018
Photo by J Kelly | Unsplash

Hi guys, a week ago was the last day we took our final exam. The exam was a little easy for me that I was able to submit it after thirty minutes.

To tell you my story, in 2015 when I was in second-year college, I wasn’t able to continue my studies because my father could no longer afford to send me and my sister to school. After a few months, I was able to be a part of a company but after two years, I felt the need to leave even if I don’t want to. Currently, I am working as a web developer in a company that understands my situation as a working student.

So far, these are the things that I experienced when I go back to school:

1. You are very lucky to have classmates that also have a mature way of thinking.

This means that you can also relate to your classmates and share common stories and responsibilities of being an adult.

2. Treasure every moment that you have while you are at school.

I’m very sure that after graduation, only a few of your classmates will get in touch with you, so plan that dream road trip and make every moment count.

3. Appreciate your own effort to attend your classes.

I know the feeling of attending your classes even if you are tired from work, but you have to. In a long run, you will be glad that you did.

4. Time management is a must.

This is the habit that I need to develop since I am a working student. Knowing how we spend our time and cut out social media will be a good start.

5. Always be humble.

Some of my teachers say that I could be an instructor due to my ability to discuss complex topics in a simple manner, but I still keep my feet on the ground.

So far, my life as a third-year working student had been a challenging yet fulfilling one. I know someday all my hardships will pay off.

Do you have the same story? You may give this a few claps and share your story in the comments below. Thank you :)

Roselle Gabuya is a BS Computer Science student and a Web Developer. She enjoys writing and calligraphy during her free time. Reach her out on Instagram : @awriterbyheart

--

--

Roselle Gabuya
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

a Writer by heart and a Software Developer by passion | reach me out on instagram : @awriterbyheart