How to Build a Successful Career on Medium

Spoiler: It’s not about the money.

--

I’ve been a member of the Medium Partner Program (MPP) since June 2018. It’s been a generally positive experience; I’ve gained a good number of followers and I’m finally at a place where I’m making a steady three-figure monthly sum from my writing.

I wanted to pen an article with tips on how to make a modest income from MPP — not enough to pay all the bills, but maybe enough to cover Netflix and a couple dinners out. But I can’t seem to write said article because the truth is, I have no idea how I earn money here.

No one does.

Photo by bruce mars from Pexels

The Wrong Path to Success

I’ve seen a lot of articles on this platform, written by veterans and newbie alike, discussing the writers’ earnings, followers, Top Writer tags, and other data, all in the guise of helping fellow scribes be successful.

I’m also a member of various online communities that regularly dissect Medium payments and stats with the goal of solving the great MPP mystery (that is, how to build a thriving freelance career solely on this site). It’s as if by sharing…

--

--

Sandra Ebejer
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Entertainment & lifestyle journalist. Pub in The Cut, Shondaland, Next Avenue, and more / sandraebejer.com / Twitter: @sebejer