How To Get The Most Out of Audiobooks

Lessons learned from listening to 36 books in 36 weeks.

Jake Daghe
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

People learn every day in a thousand different ways.

You don’t have to be a Ph.D., an astrophysicist, or a collector of obscure and random facts to be a learner. You just have to be passionate about something and willing to go a few steps beyond where the average person stops.

When I talk to people who tell me that they don’t think that they’re learners, I ask them to tell me something that makes them excited. Even if it takes some time, usually they can think of something and eventually start to light up as they share with me about their interest.

Maybe it’s cars. Maybe it’s baseball, bee-keeping, or beauty pageants.

The secret is that there is something for everyone; there are enough fascinating things in this world that everyone is a student of something.

Once you have something that you’re passionate about, you’ll want to set out to learn what you can. To do that well, you’ll need the right tools.

Listening to audiobooks is one of the great tools you can use to learn about your preferred topic.

My Audiobook Experience

--

--

Jake Daghe
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Creative Engineer writing working hypotheses | I write what I wish I could have read when I was younger | Join my newsletter ‘I/Q Crew’ on Substack.