How to Get Your First Freelance Client (or Job) Without Any Experience

A story + practical guide

Jérémy Chevallier
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo by Ali Yahya on Unsplash

If you think you need experience to get hired for something, think again.

In my early twenties, I was a freelance designer and creative. I spent years designing brochures, flyers, and websites, as well as shooting and editing product photography, promo videos, and so much more. I did much of it under the guise of the Conscious Creative brand, until summer of 2018 when I had the opportunity to help rebuild PubLoft v2 from the ground up.

During my 18 months building PubLoft, I became a bit out of touch with modern freelance problems. Mat handled all the business development and growth, and I sort of forgot how to do sales. I’d never really executed on a proper growth/outbound sales process, but in the past I’d managed to figure it out well enough. This time, I didn’t have to do any of it. Mat loved it, and was great at it.

This layer of removal became more apparent when we started coaching GigLoft students. It was difficult for me to write sales curriculum, and to coach our students on how to run an effective prospecting campaign. Then, when Mat decided to leave the company, I realized it was an opportunity to reacquaint myself with the nuances of true freelance: the soloist’s journey.

--

--