How to Land Your First Job at a Marketing Agency With No Experience

From the application process to building a portfolio, here’s everything you need to know

Jonah Malin
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Saulo Mohana/Unsplash

Like many seventeen to twenty-one-year-olds, I had no idea what I wanted to do in college. I started school at DePaul University in 2013 as an undeclared student, eventually switching to Communications midway through my freshman year. After a few Advertising courses, I decided to officially major in Public Relations & Advertising, without fully understanding where that degree could take me.

I had always been a solid writer and drifted towards courses in media strategy, so advertising felt like a good fit. Instead of pursuing unpaid internships during the Summer, I decided to take a $17/hour job with Bodyarmor Sports Drink, which at the time was still a budding sports nutrition startup.

As a sophomore, it was a dream. My days were spent driving around the city of Chicago, interacting with professional athletes, and promoting a brand that I believed in. After two years, I left BodyArmor to join Muscle Milk as an ambassador. While another fun experience, it wasn’t something that I saw as a desirable job post-graduation.

It was now 2016, and I had no applicable internships. Even worse, I still had no real idea of…

--

--

Jonah Malin
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Words that perform like Joaquin, sing like Celine, get remembered like Dean, & ooze tigers blood like Sheen.