How to Reach Your Financial Goals in 2021

A simple plan to help you get the results you want.

Kristen Walters
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Andrea Piacquadio/Pexels

When I was in my early twenties, my finances were a disaster. I didn’t keep track of my spending. Credit cards were always maxed out. I had no savings to speak of, let alone investments that would allow me to build wealth for the future.

Money and financial planning weren’t often discussed in my working-class household — except for the occasional “we can’t afford that” comment. As a result, I grew up believing that living paycheck to paycheck was the norm.

Luckily, I had a harsh wake-up call in my early thirties, which motivated me to work hard to get my finances in order.

I began educating myself about financial planning, budgeting, and investing by reading books and consulting with an accountant. I tracked my spending religiously and created budgets to help me stay on track.

However, most importantly, at the end of each year, I review my financial progress and create a new plan for the upcoming year.

This process involves:

  • Understanding your basic living expenses,
  • Creating a plan to pay down debt,
  • Setting a monthly savings goal,
  • Deciding what investments you…

--

--