How To Write A Sponsorship Proposal

Put time and research into a sponsorship proposal to give it a chance of success

Ash Jurberg
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
6 min readMay 17, 2020

--

Photo: Patrick Robert Doyle/Unsplash

Over $65 billion USD was spent on sponsorships in 2019. When compared to paid media, sponsorship is the second-fastest-growing advertising channel behind internet formats.

Attracting sponsorship, however, is a very competitive game. Businesses get approached all the time, asking for product or dollars. In the current economy, budgets are tightening, and sponsorship approval will be even harder. Whether you are an athlete, a charity, a school, or an event — the key is in the pitch and putting together a decent sponsorship proposal.

I was the Director of Marketing at a large travel company for many years. Due to this, I would receive hundreds of sponsorship requests a week.

For some reason, people assume anyone involved in a Marketing/ Sponsorship role has a bottomless pit of money and product. In my case, they thought I was like Oprah and handed out free flights and holidays to anyone who asked.

“You get a flight. You get a flight. EVERYBODY gets a flight.”

Whilst I wished this was true, I had a tight budget and accepted less than 1% of the sponsorship requests that I received. The key to getting a sponsor is in the pitch.

--

--