I Will Continue To Celebrate Valentines Day

Christina Marie
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
3 min readFeb 19, 2018
https://unsplash.com/photos/-WAiyQLGEEc

I just finished watching a vlog of a family that I follow on YouTube giving their millions of viewers a quick run down as to how they celebrated their special day.

They were full of happiness and smiles as the parents and their two little boys traded off cards, flowers and chocolates to one another as a way of showing their love and appreciation.

They ended their vlog by sitting at the end of their bed as husband and wife just talking. Talking about love, talking about life and talking about family.

This really got me thinking.

Multiple times this past week, I read so many articles on why Valentines Day is a so- called “bullshit holiday”. Or that we shouldn’t have to have a day where we celebrate love when we should show appreciation for our loved ones everyday.

But think about this.

We live in a world where there is so much negativity and hatred. Racism is sadly still an issue. There are murders and home invasions every single day. There are people out there fighting for rights that they can’t have just because “it isn’t the right thing to do”.

So, if for one day, we have 24 hours to have a fun-filled, light-hearted, loving day where we can concentrate less on the negativity, is that really such a bad thing?

I do my best to show love and appreciation for my family, friends and boyfriend on a daily basis, but as anyone else, life can get in the way making it hard sometimes to really reflect on what is important. But with that being said, I still tell my loved ones I love them everyday and take at least some point in the day to just sit down and talk with them.

Yes, money plays a part in Valentines Day as all holidays do. Many of the articles I read were coming from writers believing that it’s all just a ploy, a commercialized day. But, no matter the money or beliefs of others, I personally love Valentines Day and always have.

As a child, I got so excited to go the store to pick out those cheesy little cards that came with the fun tattoos and treats and making one for each person in my class. Growing up, I have made it a tradition each year to get up extra early in the morning and put out some decorations and Valentines Day themed treats with cards to each member of my family. Today, I luckily have an amazing person to share my day with romantically.

February 14th isn’t just a day geared towards couples.

It’s a day about showing love and appreciation. And while many people may not agree with what I have to say on this topic, I am going to continue celebrating Valentines Day each year even though I show love to my loved ones everyday.

--

--

Christina Marie
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Lover of music, art and food. Future teacher of America! Previous Contributor for the Post-Grad Survival Guide.