I Worked For Free For An Entire Year After College With 20 Other People

A cautionary tale.

Carmen Ballesteros
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Adobe Stock standard license #302179809

“When I wake up to come to work, I don’t smile anymore.”

That’s the reason I gave to my boss when I was quitting my first job.

I know how naive it sounds. I was in my twenties then. Maybe I could have chosen a wiser expression, but it was enough reason for me: I don’t smile anymore.

In a job I absolutely loved.

The Story Of My Great Resignation

I was an event manager, my favorite job in the world. As an active person who loves challenges, routine work would’ve killed me.

I don’t mind doing admin work or taxes, but I want to be a part of something that excites me, too. Events management was my perfect match.

Every event has a standard system (data collection, deadlines, negotiations, etc.) but it's unique and fun (different locations, people, hotels, traveling…)

When the day comes, we put faces to the hundreds we meet by email. We see in real life what was only in our heads for months. I can’t describe the feeling.

I’ve got more hilarious anecdotes from those years than I can count. It was the best job for a single person in their twenties…

--

--

Carmen Ballesteros
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Anthropologist, traveler and entrepreneurs coach. Serial optimist. Editor of https://medium.com/boarding-pass-to-the-world (where travelers & cultures connect)