If Thinking You Need to Be an Expert Has Kept You Stuck, Read This

You don’t need to be an expert, and here’s why.

Robyn Norman
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Marc Schiele/Unsplash

I spent most of my twenties and thirties feeling uncomfortable and “less than” because it was clear to me that I wasn’t an expert at any one thing. Somewhere along the way, I picked up the belief that being an expert at something was “the goal.”

It’s Important Where You Put Your Ladder

In my forties, while having a conversation with a friend about our insecurities, I began to see the problem with greater clarity. I realized I had put my ladder on the wrong wall! It was a ladder I had been climbing forever, and I was exhausted. I wanted a new view because having my ladder on that particular wall was getting me nowhere.

When I fix my attention on being an expert, I immediately notice the countless people who know more about what I’m interested in than I do! Because of course, they are everywhere.

There will always be folks who know more than me about almost everything.

Surprisingly, instead of feeling bad, recognizing I was between a rock and a hard place and would never achieve “the goal,” I breathed a sigh of freedom and relief.

--

--

Robyn Norman
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Therapist, mindfulness coach, writer. Obsessed with relationships and helping people enjoy them more. https://robynnorman.medium.com/subscribe