I’m A “Lazy” Millennial Working Myself To Death For Pennies And IDK What To Do Next

Angely Mercado
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
6 min readOct 13, 2018

--

Photo by Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

Some thoughts (and rants…(and also maybe a call for help))

I work several jobs and I freelance.

I’ve written several posts about this on several Medium publications. Often times I outline how I balance writing for different publications, how I organize myself and the money I make freelancing. I don’t pretend that it’s all easy or that it’s always fun, but I avoid talking about how frustrated I often am. Some of that frustration comes from not being able to take time off, getting very little sleep for weeks on end and having to grapple with the stereotype that me and other young people are lazy, even when almost everyone I know is overworked and tired.

Working crazy hours and going over assignments almost every day of the week has taken it’s toll on my emotional and physical health. I do my best to be hopeful that I will one day have a full-time job, or learn enough to be a successful freelancer who lands those coveted $1/word assignments. But I’m not there yet. And not being there yet can be stressful, especially when my financial stability is also tied to other people like my family members.

In between all of my gigs and freelance assignments, I often pitch even more ideas. I’ve also done…

--

--

Angely Mercado
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Native NYer. Climate writer/researcher @Gizmodo. Words in The Nation, The New York Times, Vogue & more. Work with me: amercado92@gmail.com