I’m Sorry I Lied to You, But I Hate Drinking

‘but that's what your twenties are for’

Emily Stubbs
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Michael Discenza/Unsplash

I used to care too much about what people thought of me. I was afraid to break apart from any social norms, and that included drinking. Heavily.

I hated it. And I knew I hated it at the time, but I was desperate to go out with friends and to find the happiness those around me saw in bottles of wine and lines of tequila shots.

I hated the feeling of going to the bathroom, drunk, and realizing how dizzy I felt, my mind spinning out of my control in the stall, my head pounding to distant, blaring music.

I’ve seen up close the damage drinking can do. Every time I see a bottle of Grey Goose, I’m reminded of the havoc it can wreak; emotionally, financially, physically… and I don’t like losing control of myself.

I don’t like ‘escaping’ my problems.

I slowly stepped away from drinking

I only ever drank socially, and over time, I started avoiding social situations in bars and clubs. I wouldn’t go to the pub on a Friday after work, and I would purposefully meet friends for brunch or dinner instead of drinks. Without even realizing it, I fell into the movement of people defining themselves as ‘sober-curious.’

--

--

Emily Stubbs
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Policy and public affairs professional, marathon runner, spin class addict and data-driven lifestyle writer.