It’s Okay to Change Your Mind About Your Career

What to do once you decide your current career is no longer working for you

Jerine Nicole
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Vladimir

I’ve been nursing for about 2 years now. I had a plan. Be an emergency nurse. Be a travel nurse. Go back to school for health informatics to learn how to bridge the gap between healthcare and technology. Then, the pandemic happened, and I realize that I no longer want to work in healthcare.

All these plans went down the drain after experiencing the brutal reality. You realize that you don’t want to work with the elderly. Or that you don’t want to work with people who don’t respect others. Or that you don’t want to work with the homeless population. Or that you don’t want to work with people who feel entitled and abuse the (Canadian) free healthcare. You realize that you don’t want to work in a profession where you are on your own because no one else will support you. After some time, it becomes too much.

Sure, I’ve learned to become the most resilient person I’ve known myself to be because of this whole experience. I applaud myself for being able to last this long despite the circumstances. Initially, I thought that I was being entitled. How can I want to quit nursing? “Your job must be so fulfilling,” people would tell me. And the truth is, it’s not. I’m burnout.

--

--

Jerine Nicole
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Part-time nurse, part-time writer. I write stories about how I explore life to inspire others. Insights on intentional living: jerinenicole.substack.com