Mistakes to Avoid at Your First Professional Job out of College

Mistakes I made, 7 lessons learned, and practical advice for recent grads.

Sah Kilic
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

You’ve gone through the schooling system for almost 2 decades, which incidentally is almost your whole life. The work had progressively gotten more difficult, higher expectations each step of the way, and through the easy times and the hard, you made it through.

You got your results and everything you’d worked for was finally there. You got your piece of paper, smiles of relief all-round, cap went up in the air, it came back down. Drinks were had, and photos were taken — and now you’re looking for the next step.

For most of us, that’s entering the workforce. I was there more than a few years ago too.

You’re excited to apply what you’ve learned, to get ahead in your career, to make some money and get a big upgrade on the poor college student lifestyle.

Alas professional life isn’t like university, and it takes some time and a lot of mistakes before we get the hang of it.

I’m going to share some mistakes I made, some things I would have done differently, and some lessons I learned in the hopes that they help you on your journey. Here’s my 7 lessons learned, and some (hopefully) helpful…

--

--

Sah Kilic
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

I talk so much I figured I should write some of it down. Join me here: http://sah.substack.com 💪