My 20s Are Over — These Are My 11 Regrets

Don’t postpone that dream or idea for sometime in the future.

Gracia Kleijnen
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
8 min readJan 17, 2021

--

Female with short dark brown hair sitting in field in hilled area with sunset in the background.
Photo: Edu Grande/Unsplash

I was twenty. The median age was seventeen. Many of the dancers were even younger. I had wanted to explore this sport much earlier, but I was afraid of sucking through the initial stage of picking up a new hobby.

At twenty, a classmate from one of my project groups in uni helped me muster up the courage to start taking dance lessons. Even then, I felt behind. Purely because of my age. In comparison, I did start “late”. Many dancers started years earlier, sometimes as young as six, and most of the instructors were younger than I.

A few months in, one guy stood out to me, a fellow dance newbie. Partly because he was one of the few males, partly because he was very handsome and muscular. He had just started and wanted to give dancing a try. We had a short chat. I failed to see his positive attitude and willingness to start a new hobby as something good. Instead, I focused on a completely irrelevant detail: his age. “Wow, at 25 you’re done, it’s already over”, went through my head. Oh, how wrong I was.

If you don’t decide to do something now, or otherwise make concrete steps to execute a plan or idea, it’ll be postponed indefinitely. Years will pass by before you take notice.

--

--

Gracia Kleijnen
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Sheets & comics creator. Words on YT, relationships, mental health, productivity & self-development in 35+ pubs. 📕Book author: https://bit.ly/Gracia-Book