My Rebel Kid Made Me Stronger

Carla Tugues
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
7 min readMar 14, 2019

--

Her determination allowed me to be myself

My daughter two weeks after she was born, when I still had control over her. Photo by Jelena Ardila.

I have a daughter who is just fourteen months old and she is already showing her special and strong way of being.

She sleeps alone on her crib since she had six tender weeks (for the whole night) and now she hates sleeping with me or anybody else.

She likes to feed herself since she learned how to hold the feeding bottle.

She loves to walk alone, tries desperately to let go of my hand, and hates the stroller.

She wants to do things without help. Teaching her ain’t easy because she gets mad when I try to show her how to use or do anything.

She doesn’t like hugs, it seems like she is not comfortable with being trapped.

Long story short, she is the opposite kind of baby that I was.

My mom always tells me that she doesn’t understand how different we are.

I was a quiet, obedient, and submissive girl. My mother never had to run after me or leave the tables empty. She enjoyed a kid who did everything that was told to do and was very easy to raise.

I am deeply thankful for the fact that I didn’t have that kind of luck.

Having a daughter so malleable may have been awesome for my…

--

--

Carla Tugues
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Writer | Designer | Eco-artist | Brain lover | Sushi hater | Life is the most precious gift. Why do we wait for our deaths if we can enjoy every second we have?