Notes From a Master ‘Excuser’

If you’d told me I’d get better at this, I would never have believed you.

Tchassa Kamga
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
4 min readSep 18, 2018

--

Street Art in Downtown Denver by yours truly— www.instagram.com/tchassakamga

“If you find yourself asking yourself (and your friends), “Am I really a writer? Am I really an artist?” chances are you are. The counterfeit innovator is wildly self-confident. The real one is scared to death.”― Steven Pressfield

I am really good at giving excuses.

I don’t have the computer I need. I don’t have internet access. I don’t have hard copies of the books I really want. I am not yet good enough to teach anyone anything. I am not mature enough. Cameroonians don’t read me. I haven’t published a book yet. I don’t have enough money. I don’t know the right people.

If you give me enough time, I can convince myself to never do anything.

I thought I’d gain more discipline with maturity, but I’m slowly coming to terms that maturity has nothing to do with it.

Decision does.

Maturity is too complex. Is it age? Is it time? Could it be better put as “experience”? If so, can a 16-year-old be experienced at building a business and still be immature in the way she…

--

--

Tchassa Kamga
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

I write about faith, family, and finance. Sharing my perspective and learnings along the way. bit.ly/adoseofperspective