This happened to me.

On The Road Again — Excited and Crazy: Part 1

Travel with me across the United States in 1991and imagine a real adventure.

Greg Prince
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
5 min readJan 9, 2019

--

Look

Went looking for a wild ride.
Found meaning brought me smiles.
Shared the feeling with all around.
Taught my soul the salt and grain in folk.
Opened sight on new ground.
For this scene I give thanks.
Memories so color filled.
Find me thankful forever and
given to all feelings deep and vivid to take.

Setting out on the highway was a bit scary. I was 20 years old, only had a couple thousand dollars and one credit card to my name.

My yellow 1988 four-door Chevrolet Cavalier was worn but in fairly good shape.

Money was a factor and since it was limited I decided to camp my way through a good part of the country.

I was determined to do my own version of Jack Kerouac’s travels he wrote about in his book On The Road.

My family in Ormond Beach, Florida gave me a little party before I left. As I drove on I-95 northward toward Georgia the pangs of doubt about my future life hit me like a heavy, wet bag of sand inside my gut.

Florida is flat so the drive up was uneventful. My best friend’s girlfriend rode…

--

--

Greg Prince
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.