You Can Rewrite Your Own Script

Be the radical god in your own machine.

Jessica Wildfire
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo by David Bartus from Pexels

Eavesdropping can change your life. Mine did when some college girls sat at a table next to me in a coffeeshop.

They started talking about study abroad, and my thoughts curdled. Their stories reminded me that I’d lost a large piece of my youth taking care of my mom for my dad, who considered me a failure.

That’s when a little voice starting speaking up.

Given my family history, you have to be careful about voices. My mom had those, and they got her in trouble.

But this voice seemed legit. It reminded me that I was an adult in her late 20s— with a credit card and everything. Nothing could stop me from going anywhere in the world. Taking on some extra debt sounded like a nice alternative to spending another year secretly feeling sorry for myself, wondering what life would’ve been like with two healthy parents. So I stopped brooding and opened a new Firefox tab.

Rewrite your script

Everyone spends a little too much time in the audience, watching themselves act out the world’s version of their life. It doesn’t matter if you’re an addict or a survivor. We all have to start rewriting the script.

--

--