Overwhelmed by Work? You Don’t Know How to Spend Your Free Time

It’s on you to make your work suck less

Cal Axe
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Andrea Piacquadio/Pexels

Since I’ve started writing about young professionalism, I’ve been surprised by how many people have reached out wanting to talk about work.

The dialogue goes something like this: “I’m overwhelmed! I thought WFH would bring some relief, but work continues to consume my life. But hey, we’re young. Work should consume everything, right?”

Work should consume everything?

As if millennials are tragic heroes from Greek mythology cursed by the gods to relive the Sunday scaries week-in and week-out.

The fact is, sometimes work sucks because we let it suck.

I’m a commercial real estate broker, one of the more competitive “always on the clock” jobs out there. I’ve learned a few things about taming overwhelm, not because I wanted to, but because I’ve felt depleted by that monster before.

Here are a few things you can do to find balance, eliminate burnout, and make work suck less.

Treat your twenties like a marathon, not a sprint

Commercial real estate refers to “time at the office” as a key indicator of success, and applauds the always plugged in…

--

--

Cal Axe
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

I give practical advice about leadership and mindsets | Subscribe https://yoprolibrary.substack.com and get a free eBook about how to journal.